What is Linux Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS)?

Linux filesystem hierarchy standard (FHS) describes directory structure. It is content in Unix and Unix like operating system.Like that linux. It explains where files and directories should be located and what it should contain.

Unix and Linux like operating system everything is considered as a file. It is current update version after 3.0 .

Linux distributions follow the FHS and that too partially. Because every distro have their own policy due to which you may notice some differences in the directory tree structure of different distros.

The search or find out information about your system’s FHS, Enter the command man hier. It will display directory structure of your system.you can see your terminal.

Here: GoboLinux and NixOS doesn’t follow FHS at all. it has it’s own and completely different policy. It should be follow of them.

The Root Directory Show now

Every directories in the Linux system comes under the root directory. Represented by a forward slash ( / ) by it. Everything in your system can be found under this root directory even if they are stored in different virtual or physical devices. root directory is the mother directory of linux system.

Above the picture, we have shown you the root directory of our system. Ubuntu with the help of the command “ls /” .

Linux Directory Description

Linux categorize the directories according to the type of file as given below :

Directory type Types of files stored

1.Binary directories – Contains binary or compiled source code files, eg, /bin, /sbin, etc.
2.Configuration directories – Contains configuration files of the system, eg, /etc, /boot.
3.Data directories – Stores data files, eg, /home, /root, etc.
4.Memory directories – Stores device files which doesn’t take up actual hard disk space, eg, /dev, /proc, /sys.
5.Usr (Unix System Resources) – Contains sharable, read only data, eg, /usr/bin, /usr/lib, etc.
6.var (variable directory) – Contains larger size data, eg, /var/log, /var/cache, etc.
7.Non-standard directories – Directories which do not come under standard FHS, eg, lost+found, /run, etc.

Leave a Reply